We found management to be dishonest and unwilling to take ownership for false advertising of an apartment that reeked of cigarettes but advertised as non-smoking. The fact that we lost a day of our holidays and that we had young children in the apartment meant nothing. Unethical management and false advertising.
I’ve attached the emails I can find and would be happy for Liberty to include those not included.
Your email is factually incorrect and dishonest. It is not acceptable.
The facts are very simple:
1. The room was advertised as non-smoking. It smelt of cigarettes not smoke from the outside. For you to say this, is completely dishonest. Your maid was there and so was Tinga.
Your maid Pamma, confirmed that there were Italians in the apartment that had smoked inside. She said 5 people tried to help the smell of cigarettes out and couldn’t. We even opened the sliding doors to let fresh air in but this didn’t help the smell of cigarettes. We all know the smell of cigarettes so please don’t make nonsensical suggestions about “think the smell comes from outside”. The bedsheets, towels and curtains smelt of cigarettes. Be honest!
2. The first time we had any contact from anybody was at about 10:30 or so when Pamma arrived to clean drop off toilet paper. My husband explained to her the smell about the apartment. She provided the explanation above.
She also phoned Pravesh, who told her that there was nothing he could do as all other apartments were taken.
3. It was only after hearing from Pamma that there was nothing that could be done that we started looking for another place.
4. My husband also phoned Usha who was driving at the time and could not find alternative accommodation at that time.
5. We found another place at about 12:30. By this time we had still not had any contact from anyone from LOV apartments.
6. I sent an email saying we would br leaving and booked a taxi to collect us. We wasted half a day in the smelly apartment, without being able to go get food or water with two young children all because of you not being honest about the room smelling of cigarettes.
6. Tinga arrived at 13:30 or so and tried to find alternative accommodation. We informed her that we could consider if there was a refund where we were headed. At this point there was still no confirmation that any accommodation from LOV was available. It was almost 14:00 and our kids and ourselves still did not have anything to eat or drink since the night before.
7. At this time and before Tinga said there was potentially another place upstairs we checked the site conditions informing us that we couldn’t cancel without a charge.
8. Tinga had my husband’s telephone number and even Whatsapped him. You also had my email address, through which you are corresponding with me through this email chain. Saying you couldn’t reach us is just so dishonest.
9. We were with hungry and thirsty kids, we spent half a day of our holidays trying to contact LOV and looking for alternative accommodation, we ended up paying more for alternative accommodation for a last alternative, we had pay additional taxis and were misold a room which should have catered for our first trip to Mauritius. The very least you can do is refund us and apologise for the above and not trying to cover us with lies to cover up.
Please advise how you wish to proceed by Monday. After this we will take this issue up with Booking.com and Tripadvisor.
Ruth and Helder
Dear Ruth Fernandes, Greetings from Lov and thank you for your email. My name is Sarah and i am in charge of the Reservations department. Further to your email which we received at 01:07pm today, please note that we have tried to get reach of you but unfortunately, you already check-out of the apartment. We are very sorry about that as you did not allow us time to assist you concerning your reservation at Liberty Drive. Since this morning, we have received several messages from you as follows; - you thought about booking a Penthouse but after verification, it is a 3 bedroom Apartment that you have reserved with Booking.com. My colleague Wendy has confirmed same by email. -Please note that you informed the maid about the smell but this apartment is free since 2 weeks now. Hence, we think that the smell can be from the roads and not inhouse. Last but not least, i have been informed that my colleague onsite proposed to you a change of apartment (same category; 3 bedroom apartment) but you declined it. Hence, please note that there will be no reimbursement as 100% cancellation fees applied due to cancellation of booking less than 31 days prior to arrival date. Thank you for your comprehension and wish you nice vacations in Mauritius. Best Regards, Sarah
Thank you for your reply.
Again, you are being dishonest and omitting facts, as well as now changing the first story.
1. Pamma said there were smokers previously. She noticed the smell of smoke. That’s why she mentioned the previous tenants being smokers. We could not make this up. You know full well that cigarette smoke lasts for some time. I smelt the bedclothes and the towels (I slept there and had a bath remember?!). It is interesting that you no longer mention that the smell came from the outside.
2. She said that there were Italians there who were smokers. I’m sure the nationality can also be verified. I wouldn’t be able to make this up. I see you now admit the previous guests were smokers.
3. Pamma spoke to Pravesh and he confirmed there were no other rooms at all. not just the penthouse. I’m sure this can be confirmed via telephone records.
4. I contacted Usha who was on the road. My telephone records reflect that. She said she would get back to me and wasn’t able to. This can also be verified via phone records.
5. Tegan was at the apartment and confirmed the rooms were non-smoking and tried to find another room. Not once did she say the room did not smell of smoke. She in fact said various times that the rooms are meant to be non-smoking. She also mentioned that there is no way to check when guests smoke as there are no cameras in the apartments. At no time did she challenge our assertion that the apartment smelt of smoke.
6. When Tegan arrived she was unable to find a room until almost the time we were leaving.
7. You no longer mention that you were unable to contact us, this is because we have prof you didn’t.
8. We were with two young children. They should not have to be in an unhealthy environment inhaling leftover tar from bedclothes and towels. They both complained about the smell of the apartment, the bedclothes and the towels.
9. You seem to be saying that we wanted to leave because the apartment was not a penthouse and because of this we made up the whole story.
If we were not going to stay at the apartment even though my wife thought it was a penthouse. If we were going to leave we wouldn’t have asked Pamma for another apartment where she confirmed one wasn’t available with Pravesh, and we wouldn’t have contacted Usha for the same reason.
We would have stayed if the apartment didn’t smell of cigarettes and if we didn’t have two young children.
If you advertise non-smoking and it is not non-smoking you are advertising falsely. This is dishonest, unethical and irresponsible especially when you know that you will be receiving young children.
10. We wasted half a day of our holidays in Mauritius and had our first meal after 15:00 with two young children because you falsely advertised, didn’t own up, didn’t find alternative accommodation on time.
11. You are no longer suggesting the smell came from outside, that you had alternative accommodation on time, that you tried to contact us but were unable to. This is because these are lies and you unable to.
We will take the matter up with Booking.com and Tripadvisor since you don’t want to refund us.