We, a couple, had booked 4 nights in Torel 1884 Suites & Apartments in July and were looking forward to the wonderful country of Portugal again.
One day after the non-refundable rate, we received the following message:
We are very sorry to inform you that due to covid-19 restrictions, we will not be able to accommodate your reservation in Torel 1884 Suites & Apartments. Nevertheless, we truly want that you have an amazing experience with us and therefore, if you agree with this solution, we would be delighted to host you in our sister 5-Star hotel and charming Palace in Porto, Torel Palace Porto.
OK, we agreed, but that was a big mistake.
We later learned that Torel 1884 Suites & Apartments has apparently been closed for a long time since the covid-19 restrictions. Why do you allow potential guests to continue booking through your booking system and other providers for the time in Torel 1884 when it is closed?
After a horror night at the Torel Palace Porto, we asked the hotel staff to rebook us into the Torel Avantgarde for another 3 nights, as the Torel Palace Porto was a little unsuitable for us with the few drawbacks: the rooms are noisy, i.e. If a guest above you has to show up very early and take a shower, you can clearly hear that, you shouldn't sleep without earplugs. As a prospect, a construction site offered itself, the local purified water tasted very strongly of chlorine (according to the hotel staff that had something to do with the local fountain), the toilet brush fell apart when I touched it for the first time, the stains on the toilet brush plate were extremely visible unhygienic, the rain shower head had heavy limescale stains, the bedclothes were very rough and had fluff (according to the hotel staff that would have something to do with a mistake in the laundry).
We should get a “quieter” room in the Torel Avantgarde with a nicer view, even if there is apparently a construction site nearby, but according to the hotel staff you should hardly hear any noise.
The reception at the Torel Avantgarde was very friendly. You should finally feel comfortable in the picturesque city of Porto with a stay at the Torel Avantgarde in a Superior Room. Far from it, at 7:30 a.m., the construction site's jackhammer roared very loudly through the walls, despite the windows being closed. OK, the view over the Douro with the good breakfast is great, even if the noise of the construction site is slightly present here. But then the shock followed in the middle of the second night at the Torel Avantgarde. We couldn't sleep all night and it felt strange sleeping right on plastic. A look under the sheets showed that we had slept on an uncovered mattress. See photos. There is a risk of germs and infections, a condition that is difficult to believe in today's world with covid-19. According to the hotel staff, all beds are made up for guests according to 5-star guidelines, but not with us. After a complaint in the early morning we were offered a suite for the last night as an improvement. This was with a beautiful view, spacious with a larger bed (1.80m) and again had the very rough duvet cover with fluff, as we knew it from the Torel Palace Porto. Well then good night.
How can it be in a hotel in which the Clean & Safe Certification should be compulsory, how does such a hotel make it into the Condé Nast Traveler Best List, Tripadvisor’s Traveler’s Choice Award?
It's a shame, we would have liked to have enjoyed the beautiful city of Porto without stress, unfortunately the Torel Boutiques didn't make it possible for us. Compensation for damages was made to Torel Boutiques.